Skip to content ↓


Computing is taught as a standalone subject in Years 7,8 and 9 and is an option subject for Key Stage 4.  We have 2 dedicated ICT suites for delivering discrete Computing lessons.

Computing aims to ensure that all pupils:

  • can understand and apply the fundamental principles and concepts of computer science, including abstraction, logic, algorithms and data representation
  • can analyse problems in computational terms, and have repeated practical experience of writing computer programs in order to solve such problems
  • can evaluate and apply information technology, including new or unfamiliar technologies, analytically to solve problems
  • are responsible, competent, confident and creative users of information and communication technology

Key Stage 4 

Students study GCSE Computing using the OCR Board.  There are three components to GCSE Computing.

Programming Controlled Assessment - 20% of the Final Assessment

Students are asked to code one or more programs, and to plan, design, test and evaluate them as well.  We currently use the language PYTHON.

Two Theory Examinations - 40% each

The final exam cover a wide rage of Computing subjects.  A summary of these is as follows:

  • Computer Systems and Architecture
  • Computer Hardware (processing, input/output, memory, storage)
  • Computer Software (including operations systems)
  • Data (images, sound, files, binary, hexadecimal, instructions)
  • Database Concepts (DBMS, tables, fields, queries, reports)
  • Networks
  • The Internet
  • Programming Theory

Edexcel BTEC Level 2 First Award in Information and Creative Technology

The Edexcel BTEC Level 2 First Aware in Information and Creative Technology has been designed primarily for young people who may wish to explore a vocational route throughout Key Stage 4.

It has been developed to:

  • Inspire and enthuse learners to become technology savvy - producers of technology products and systems not just consumers
  • Give learners the opportunity to gain a broad understanding and knowledge of the Information Technology sector and some aspects of the creative industries.
  • Allow for a flexible choice of units to meet the needs of learners with different interests and inclinations.
  • Explore the fundamentals of technology and gain the practical skills, knowledge.

The Edexcel BTEC Level 2 First Award in Information and Creative Technology has one externally assessed unit and a further three internally assessed units and is taught over 120 guided learn hours (GLH).

Key Stage 5

The BTEC Nationals in Computing provides you with a wide range of qualifications sizes to choose from.  Each ahs a clear purpose, and is designed eo ensure progression to higher education or into employment.  The current BTEC National offered will consist of 4 units with 30 guided hours.  The course is equivalent to one A Level and assessment is via examination and portfolio work.