Skip to content ↓

BTEC Health & Social Care

BTEC Level 3 National Extended Certificate in Health and Social Care

Year 12

Year 13

BTEC National Extended Certificate in Health and Social Care is made up of four units over two years and is worth the equivalent of an A level when completed.

The course involves the study of the health and social care sector, how the NHS developed, the structure, issues that affect it, organisations and employment.  Visits to healthcare settings, and visits from social work professionals form an integral part of the course as first-hand experience is important for coursework.

The course involves using a range of skills including, report writing, investigation, presentation, communication, and IT.

Unit 1 - Human Lifespan Development

Written Exam

Health and social care practitioners need to develop a knowledge base for working with people in every stage of their lives, and they need to know how their own experiences relate to health and wellbeing. Although it is generally accepted that there may be deterioration in health with age following adulthood, medical intervention means people are living longer and have better life prospects.

Unit 5 – Meeting Individual Care and Support Needs

Coursework assignment

For you to be able to provide the care and support that individuals need, it is important that you have a good understanding of the principles behind providing quality care and support. This unit introduces you to the values and issues that need to be considered when planning care and support that meet the needs of an individual in a health and social care environment.

Unit 2 – Working in Health and Social Care

Written Exam

This unit will help you to understand what it is like to work in the health and social care sector. When working for an organisation in this sector, you will have important responsibilities that you need to understand and carry out. These include maintaining the safety of and safeguarding individuals with health and social care needs, making sure that you properly handle their personal information and preventing discrimination towards them. You will need to understand how you will be accountable both to these individuals and the regulatory bodies that represent people who work in the health and social care sector. It is necessary for you to understand how your work will be

monitored when you carry out a specific role such as nurse or social worker.

Unit 14 – Physiological disorders and their care

Coursework assignment

If you have ever been ill, then you will know how important it is to receive the right treatment and care in order to make a full recovery. It is essential for workers in the health and social care sector to understand the nature of physiological disorders and how to provide appropriate treatment and care. This includes being aware of the causes and effects of physiological disorders, as well as the roles of different professionals involved in providing treatment and care for service users.

Links Well With:

BTEC Health and Social Care links particularly well with Psychology, Biology, Business Studies, English Literature, or Language.

Progression Routes:

The BTEC National Extended Certificate in Health and Social Care provides UCAS points for university. You can study for a degree, BTEC L4, HNC or HND. Alternatively, you can apply for an Advanced Apprenticeship in Health Care, Nursery assistant, Childcare or Administration. Employment opportunities are diverse and include Nursing, Midwifery, Physiotherapy, Occupational Therapy, Social Work or Caring roles. The skills learnt enable you to gain employment in Health Care, Social Care and childcare.

Entry Requirements:

GCSE average point score of Grade 5 or above.